The Bohemian Writer

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Not in Kansas

Google’s April Fool jest is cute.  Really, it is.  They “changed their name to Topeka.”  I almost laughed.

April first is not my favorite day.  I can appreciate a silly joke once in a while but making someone out to be a fool or an idiot just for a laugh is a horrible thing to do.  Call me too sensitive.  Do not forget, however, that there always has to be a victim.  In my early years and even later I was too often the victim.  I have never been an instigator of a prank that caused another human being to be shamed.

This is my greatest problem as a writer.  I have an entirely different perspective on the world and humanity than most people do.  I do not live in Kansas.  I am a crusader for the underdog.  But by their nature most of them cringe beneath a world of human cruelty and nasty attitudes and are unlikely to have my back when I need them.  I have always been the underdog but I refuse to kowtow to the jackass bullies who too often seize control.  I do not hate bullies but I hate what they do to others.

I started to title this blog “who are you.”  When I clicked my Google link to look up The Who’s lyrics of that song I saw the silly joke and changed what I was going to lead with.  The song didn’t fit anyway, except the words, “who are you?”  I look in the mirror and ask that question.  I look out the window and ask that question.  I even sit at our dining table, cast my eyes around it to see my family, and ask it.  I am a stranger in a strange land.  Thus, again, I sometimes have difficulty finding the words to write that will impress others so I can get paid.  I would not care about getting paid except that, you know, I need gas in the van and to eat once in a while.

So who are you?  Who who?  Do you know.  How do we find out?  It’s all a puzzle, isn’t it?

Time for coffee.  I’ll think about it.

April 1, 2010 Posted by | Writing Life | Leave a comment